Recent Posts



The Klesa Asmita

There is a classical text of yoga written by the sage Patanjali. In this text there are described the workings of the individuated mind. It describes modes of perception and cognition called vrttis of which there are five. It defines the purpose of yoga as establishing a sense of self that transcends these modes of perception. It also describes aspects of the mind that inhibit this process. These are called klesas of which there are also five. Before we look at the klesa called asmita, let us first look at the individuated consciousness itself called citta,as a point of contrast. Citta is described in the yoga sutras as having three primary aspects- manas/mind, buddhi/ discriminative thought

Do you love High Desert Yoga and want to help us through this time of uncertainty?

Your donation of any amount is deeply appreciated.

High Desert Yoga

4600 Copper Ave NE, Albuquerque, NM 87108, USA